House, Senate Kick Off 2021-22 Session, Assign Legislative Committees

The 2021-22 legislative session began last week, with lawmakers sworn into office in small groups in the state House chamber to allow for social distancing. The House again voted to confirm Rep. Bryan Cutler, R-Lancaster, for his first full term as Speaker of the House  – he was initially elected last year to replace retiring House Speaker Mike Turzai.

In the Senate, a heated debate ensued over Senate Republican’s decision to not swear in a Senator for the 45th Senate District in Allegheny and Westmoreland Counties (incumbent Senator Jim Brewster leads Republican opponent Nicole Ziccarelli by only a slim margin and a legal challenge remains pending). Ultimately, the Senate voted 31-18 to confirm Sen. Jake Corman as President Pro Tempore of the chamber. Prior to serving as President Pro Tempore, Sen. Corman previously served several terms as Senate Majority Leader.

The House also announced the leaders of the standing committees for the 2021-22 session last week. The listing of House Republican Committee chairs is available here; the House Democratic chairs are listed here. Senate standing committee assignments have yet to be announced.


Founded in 1916, the Pennsylvania Chamber of Business and Industry is the state's largest broad-based business association, with its membership comprising businesses of all sizes and across all industry sectors. The PA Chamber is The Statewide Voice of BusinessTM.